What can be found on a visit to Russborough House
- doneCP Adventure – Outdoor Adventure Land & Water activities for Everyone
- doneBike Rental – Explore the Blessington Greenway and Russborough ParklandsRussborough House – Guided tours available at this stunning stately House Parkland Walks include a Tree Trail and Walking Trail. Also Wildlife, Woodland and Rhododendron trails can be explored by foot or bike,The Maze – 2000 metre beech hedge maze. A big hit always for both adults and kids. This can be included in birthday adventure packages with CP Adventure
- donePlayground – An adventure area for the kids which includes picnic tables for eating outdoors.
- doneWoodland Fairy Trail – Fairy Trail brochures are available at reception
- doneWalled Garden – Currently being restored by volunteers from the Royal Horticultural Society of Ireland
- doneThe Bird of Prey Centre – Outdoor educational centre where eagles, owls, hawks and falcons from around the world can be seen
- doneArtisans of Russborough – A group of resident artists working in the East and West Wing Courtyards of Russborough. Visit their studios and you will find beautiful handmade products such as: Ceramicist, Sculptural, Blacksmiths, Candle Maker, Bog Oak Sculpter and a Stonemason
- doneSheepdog Demonstrations – Fun, interactive demonstrations available for group bookings
Russborough House was built for Joseph Leeson. Leeson moved to Ireland. Over time he became an MP and was then made Earl of Milltown in 1763. Russborough remained in the possession of the Earls of Milltown until the sixth Earl.
1914 – Russborough was passed to a family nephew – Edmund Turton
1931 – Russborough was sold to Captain Denis Bowes Daly
1952 – Russborough was bought by Sir Alfred and Lady Beit.
1976 – Sir Alfred and Lady Beit established the Alfred Beit Foundation to manage the property.
1978 – The Foundation opened the historic Mansion and its art collections to the public.
Beit died in 1994. Lady Beit stayed in residence until her own death in 2005
2 Fine Collections have been housed in Russborough House over the years. Milltown Estate housed a fine collection which was donated to the National Gallery of Ireland by the widow of the sixth Earl before her death. Sir Alfred Beit housed his own fine Art collection consisting of works by Goya, Vermeer, Peter Paul Rubens and Thomas Gainsborough. His collection was stolen from four times. 1974 by an IRA gang. 1986 by “The General” aka Martin Cahill. 2001 & 2002 by Martin Foley (associate of Martin Cahill). A large portion of these paintings are available to view today in Russborough House